Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Wednesday Update

So I've done well so far, for the first 2 days. I read 30 min. both days and I feel so good afterwards! It's amazing the difference when you read to find answers, than when you read to just to read. I like having a time limit instead of a chapter amount because then I can just go and go until the time runs out. 30 min. is kind of a long time because I read before I go to bed, so I'll either shorten that after the week is over to maybe 20 and then I can always extend my reading time if I'm not tired.

It's going to be hard to do this though starting on Thursday because we are going out of town for a few days. But hopefully I'll be able to continue!

Monday, July 13, 2009

2nd Week Resolution

Well I did pretty well last week, of course there were a few times I forgot about the goal, but tried to shape up and get better. It was a nice goal, just hard to track. That's why my goal this week is something I can actually do and keep track of. I'm going to try and have personal scripture study for 30 min. a day. I've been pretty good lately to read them, but I usually just read a chapter and then go to bed. But I really want to have meaningful study and spend some more time on it.

So starting tonight I will be reading 30 min. a day and I'm going to read for quality not quantity. I think next week I'll do a goal with the gym, but we're going out of town this weekend and I won't be able to make it too often this week.

Good luck to everyone else!

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Lovely Phone Calls

So, as I'm sure you know, I take phone calls at work all day and help people with their investments. Many people are particular about their money and can get very upset sometimes. I usually get about 1-2 really pissed off people per day. I'm going to be honest, I wasn't very positive after a call I had today. Because of the challenge, I've tried to just let their rude remarks roll off my back, but I got really upset after I talked to this one gentleman that I couldn't let it go.

He had about $10 million, so you know right away that 95% of people with money are mad at life and they will usually be jerks to you. So I was already expecting it. Anyways, he was trying to get a hold of a certain department and I had to place him on hold and he got so angry! He said he shouldn't have to wait and because I put him on hold, his entire day was ruined. He got so upset and was practically yelling at me for being incompetant, when all I did was put him on hold. Anyways, this call reminded me of my challenge and I'm now over it.

Sometimes I just take things personally, even though I know they're not mad at me specifically, but about life in general. It makes me think that if I'm ever rich, I will try so hard to be nice, because, those people are very few and far between.

Monday, July 6, 2009

Stupid Teenagers

So in accordance with my goal, I was tested this afternoon, haha. I was driving to the gym... in a hurry I might add ( I was trying to make it to the class and I HATE being late to the aerobics classes). Anyways, there was this car in front of me, that probably noticed I was in a hurry, and just slowed down. I know it was on purpose because the car was full of teenagers and they kept looking in their mirrors and pointing and laughing. Then they stuck their middle fingers out the window and just thought it was hilarious. It started to piss me off, but then I realized, they're just immature and I didn't even care anymore. I was just calm and smiled and felt good about staying positive.

Challenge Week 1 - Be positive

So this Sunday I've decided my goal for the week would be to try to be as positive as possible. I've noticed lately that I have a negative attitude about work, cleaning the house, and things I just don't enjoy doing. So instead of being Debbie Downer and being annoyed that I have to do these things, I decided to try and find the good it in so that my day is happier.

I also decided to be positive towards other people. If people say mean things, or are rude to me, I've decided to let it bounce off and just be happy and not to worry about what others say.

So far, this morning was the first morning and I, of course after a long weekend, didn't want to come to work. But I decided to have a good day and so far so good! I'll keep you posted on any stories throughout the week!

GOOD LUCK to everyone else on their goals!

Thursday, July 2, 2009

July's Challenge


Lets call this one "New Weeks Resolution"...

I was never good at a New Years Resolution, so maybe weekly goals are what I need to set!Here's how to do it:Every Sunday night, set a goal for yourself. Something you want to do or improve on all week long.

Some ideas that I have are...
- Get and Keep all the laundry done
- Work in the garden everyday (even in the 100 degree heat!)
- Spend one on one time with each of my kids daily
- Make a nice homemade meal using a new recipe ever day
- Read a book
- Say more meaningful prayers
- Read my scriptures
- Do a random act of kindness

....hmmm, I think July might need more than 4 weeks in it! I have a lot I could improve on.Anyway, blog about what your goal is by Monday and update us on your progress as often as you can! We can all cheer for each other! Good luck!